skip navigation

Kalamazoo Blades Team History


  • Kalamazoo Hackett Catholic Central drops hockey program


  • Kalamazoo Irish Club Hockey team created
  • Coached by Jack Stokes


  • Kalamazoo Blades established as a group led by Jamie Geary
  • First year head coach Pat Ryan led the Blades to a fifth place finish in the Southwest Michigan High School Hockey League


  • Kalamazoo Blades and Kalamazoo Eagles reach agreement on schools assigned to each team
  • Blades receive players from Comstock, Vicksburg, Three Rivers, Galesburg-Augusta, Climax-Scotts, Schoolcraft, Mendon and Kalamazoo home school students
  • Jamie Geary retires as Blades manager/athletic director


  • Coached by Pat Ryan, Kalamazoo Blades claim their first SWMHSHL championship
  • Ron Penny named Blades manager/athletic director


  • After five seasons, coach Pat Ryan resigns
  • New head coach Tyke Jepson leads the Blades to a third place finish in SWMHSHL


  • Kalamazoo Blades claim first place in the Kentwood Ice Dogs Thanksgiving Tournament


  • Blades claim their second SWMHSHL championship
  • Ryan Penny establishes record for most wins by a Blades goaltender with 49 career wins


  • Kalamazoo Blades compete in first Midget AA district tournament
  • Jeremy Von Eitzen establishes Blades team record for most points recorded by a player with 152 points
  • Guided by Tyke Jepson, Blades capture third SWMHSHL championship
  • Blades win championship at Griff Icehouse Christmas Tournament


  • Tyke Jepson (along with long-time assistants Dan Noteboon and Matt Fletcher) retires after guiding Blades to a 108-67-11 record during his seven years as head coach
  • Ron Penny retires as Blades manager/athletic director
  • Assistant coach Curt Penny promoted to head coach
  • Jim McBarnes named team manager
  • Jamie Geary named athletic director


  • Blades capture first place in Kalamazoo Invitational
  • They also come in second in the Ft. Wayne Big Bear Comet Cup


  • Blades win Ft. Wayne Big Bear Comet Cup
  • They also come in second in the Kalamazoo Invitational and Grand Rapids Sportsweekend Tournament


  • Kalamazoo Blades win SWMHSHL regular season title
  • They come in first in T-Bird Classic and second in the Kalamazoo Invitaitonal
  • Blades finish with third consecutive 20-win season


  • Blades Capture Walter Ernfeldt Tournament Championship
  • Blades Capture Crown Point Tournament Championship
  • Blades Capture Kalamazoo Invitational Championship
  • Blades win 2nd Annual Rival Cup Game
  • David Brennan Retires as Blades Team Representative
  • Terry Merkle named Blades Team Representative


  • Blades finish runner up in Walter Ernfeldt Tournament
  • Blades finish runner up in  Kalamazoo Invitational Tournament
  • Blades win 3rd Annual Rival Cup Game
  • Blades finish runner up in SWMHSHL League Tournament


  • Blades finish runner up in Grandville Thanksgiving Tournament
  • Blades win inaugural Utica Stevenson Tournament Championship
  • Blades win Kalamazoo Invitational Tournament
  • Blades win 4th Annual Rival Cup Game
  • Jim McBarnes retires as Blades Team Manager
  • Terry Merkle named Blades Team Manager
  • Tom Garrett named Blades Team Representative


  • Curt Penny retires as head coach
  • James Springer named head coach


  • Blades finish runner up in Jackson Thanksgiving Tournament
  • Blades win Walter Ernfeldt Tournament Championship
  • Blades win Big Thaw Tournament Championship


  • Eric Babcock named head coach


  • Blades make year end playoffs


  • Tyler Eddy named head coach
  • Blades capture 8th Annual Rivalry Cup
  • Terry Merkle retires as Blades Team Manager
  • Dave Shepherd named Blades Team Manager


  • Blades land two Finnish exchange students, Welcome Vetti Isojarvi and Valteri Vourimaa
  • Blades capture 9th Annual Rivalry Cup
  • Blades runner-up at Walter Ernfeldt Tournament Championship
  • Blades runner-up at MYHockey Tournament, Notre Dame/Compton Championship 
  • Valteri Vourimaa and Cody Hagen capture 1st and 2nd, Single Season leading scores in Blades history
  • Blades capture least penalized team in the SWMHSHL  


  • Blades land exchange student from Sweden.  Welcome Max Angelin.
  • Blades Capture 10th Annual Rivalry Cup
  • Blades win Championship at Walter Ernfeldt Memorial Tournament


  • Blades adopt the Southwest Michigan Blades name.
  • Blades win 11th Annual Rivalry Cup(4th in a row)
  • Blades finish runner up at Walter Ernfeldt Memorial Tournament
  • Blades sweep both Portage Schools, capture 3rd in league.  First playoff birth in 4 years.
  • 20+ win season
  • Team All Academic All State Honors, 3.51 Accumulative GPA
  • Coach Eddy wins Coach of the Year


  • Blades win Conference Championship(first time in 13 years)
  • Blades capture Walter Ernfeldt Memorial Title (top bracket)
  • Blades beat Mattawan for first time ever (season sweep)
  • Blades finish season ranked #18 in D1; #49 in State(highest ranking ever)
  • 25+ win season
  • Blades capture first ever League Playoff Championship
  • Jeff Haifley sets single season scoring record, 74 points;
  • Zach Hattan, Jaxon Dobrolowski, Cole Shafer,  Zac Gothard, Parker Lawrence and Jett Hailey all win league awards
  • Coach Eddy wins Coach of the Year(2nd)


  • SWM Blades enter the MHSHL League(Michiana Highschool Hockey League)
  • Ellingson family hosts Finalnds' Kalle Artturi Aho
  • Blades win Michiana League Championship 
  • Blades finish runner up at Culvers Cornfield Cup
  • Blades repeat as SWMHSHL Conference Champions
  • Blades go 10-0 for first time in league history
  • Parker Lawrence, Jaxon Dobrowolski, Chris Bigelow voted Michiana All Conference
  • Coach Eddy and Woodward record 100th win as Blades staff
  • Parker Lawrence sets singles season point record, 104 points/45 games 


  • Blades get nod for MHSHL City Tournament
  • Blades get nod for first ever, Indiana HS State Tournament
  • Blades beat Gilmore Academy and St. Ignatius-first time ever
  • Parker Lawrence, Chris Bigelow and Blaine Shafer make MHSHL All Conference
  • Chase Stenger wins Chris McMillian Award for Academics and Volunteerism


  • Blades welcome Marlon Meyer, exchange student from Germany
  • Blades win first Jeff Lafferty Memorial Rivalry Cup, 3-2 OT
  • Blades beat Culver Academy for first time ever 
  • Blades capture MHSHL League Championship, Founders Trophy
  • Asher Smith and Brock Ellingson make All State Academic Team
  • Asher Smith and Owen Drake make All Conference Team


  • Blades finish runner up to St Joe for the MHSHL Championship
  • Blades receive #3 seed in the 4A State bracket, in Fort Wayne
  • 5 players receive All Conference Team nominations:  Owen Drake, Justin LaGrow, Chase Willcutt, Carter Lehmann and Owen Miller
  • Blades capture 2nd Annual Jeff Lafferty Memorial Cup
  • Owen Drake obtains back to back MHSHL point and goal leader status
  • Justin LaGrow leads the MHSHL in assist and finishes T2 for overall points
  • Blades with 35 win season, 2nd all time; 1ST time to State semi finals as well


  • Blades capture MHSHL Founders Trophy League Champion; #1 Seed in City Tourney
  • Carter Lehmann leads MHSHL in points (34) and goals (20)
  • Jarrett LaGrow leads MHSHL in assists (15)
  • Chase Willcutt and Adam Weeden combine for 1 GAA in league play; 8/18 shutouts
  • MHSHL All Conference Selections:  Carter Lehmann, Jarrett LaGrow, Chase Willcutt, Nate Willcutt, Adam Weeden and Will Boyer
  • Blades secure #1 seed in 4A state tournament


  • Connor Penny family hosts Vili Keranen from Finland
  • George Smith leads league in goals, assists and points (34)
  • Six players make the MHSHL All Conference Team
    • Team 1-Colin Porn G, George Smith F, Mason Lyster
    • Team 2-Vili Keranen D, Connor Penny F, James Smith F
  • Blades capture first ever MHSHL City Championship
  • Blades capture another 30+ win season